Good News About Charleston

I”ve always report the real numbers here at allthingscharleston and my message all along has been, “maybe this is a good time to buy; maybe it’s not.  It depends on your situation.”  I’m less optimistic than my fellow real estate agents and besides, any message that says, “Now is a great time to buy.” is bound to be perceived as self-serving anyway.  What do you expect the real estate association to say?  “The market is crap and if you’re smart, you’d wait it out at least another six months?”  In fact, that probably is the best advice for most of you; however, if you’re moving to Charleston or are ready to move UP in price, this can be a good time.  Also, there is a lot of good news about Charleston on the natoinal scene.  It really is a great place to live depending on what you’re into.  If you want amusement parks and a world class nightlife club scene, Charleston probably isn’t your place.  But if you like good food, fun and friendliness, Charleston is awesome.  The weather is great if you know how to take care of yourself in the heat.  (like stay inside if you’re from Minnesota) 

If you’re interested in learning more about Charleston, this is a great link, particularly if you are comparing cities.

http://www.pressomatic.com/ctar/upload/Charleston_Real_Estate_GoodNewsAboutCharlestonMarket.pdf

Let me know your thoughts.

7 responses to “Good News About Charleston

  1. Great compilation of magazine articles. Thanks

    “The weather is great if you know how to take care of yourself in the heat. (like stay inside if you’re from Minnesota) ”

    Or Chicago…Although, the Italian Ices being sold on the corners downtown are always a refreshing way to cool down… maybe even necessary. At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

    • While doing my military training in the South, I remember more than one occasion of having a medevac helicopter coming in for very fit Minnesotans. In these cases, it was the more dangerous “Heat Stroke” where death is a real possibility, especially without medical attention. It’s called being “acclimated”. It’s a real thing so be careful. I don’t know if Northerners can ever truly get acclimated. Also, we know down here to stay hydrated. You have to drink more water than you feel like drinking. If you wait until you feel Thirsty, particulary if you are from up north, you could end up in the hospital.

  2. Kelly…are you from Chicago? I live in Wheaton and we’re considering a move to Charleston. Trying to find areas that would be comparable. I love my home and my neighborhood, but not sure if I can endure a lifetime of Chicago winters.

  3. That was the reason we left IA… 32 below… Never again! This summer has been wonderful but has been milder than usual. I will take the heat over the cold any day.

    • Me too. I grew up in Northern Virginia which was more seasonal, and went to college at Virginia Tech, which seemed like Alaska when the wind whipped across the drill field. I played ball and did my military training in hot weather, and can deal with it. I actually like running when it’s over 90 degrees. It feels cleansing. I also remember runnning at Ft. Sill OK, in the middle of winter. Holy cow. That was cold! Have you seen the movie “New in Town.”? As a travelling consultant, I’ve had that feeling walking out the door with my suit and no overcoat when it’s 8 degrees and the wind is blowing. I didn’t know where I was going when I left the house, and took my chances.

  4. That is a great link! I won’t lie I am in no means an expert but I want to learn more so this was helpful! My boyfriend is all about the marketplace and all so I would like to be able to chat with him!

Leave a Reply

